Home CELINA From the Desk of Dr. Tom Maglisceau: Closing Out the 2019-2020 School Year

From the Desk of Dr. Tom Maglisceau: Closing Out the 2019-2020 School Year

by Heather Reynolds

The month of May has always been filled with numerous end-of-year banquets, field days, year-end parties, and our seniors checking off their “last” experiences of high school. A few months ago, none of us could have predicted that our everyday lives would be so disrupted by a virus, but what we have accomplished in the wake of this disturbance is truly amazing. We are so proud of our students’ efforts to continue their learning as we all adjusted to a “new normal,” and I know you join me in thanking our teachers for carrying on the quality of instruction expected in Celina ISD.

We continued to hold out hope that our students and staff would come back together before the school year ended, but with the Governor’s last order, which closed our doors for the remainder of the year, we redirected our focus to a strong finish and celebrating the Class of 2020. Celina HS Principal, Dave Wilson, and his team went to work to finalize plans to celebrate this group of seniors. The Senior Spotlight campaign began on our social media pages, individually highlighting activities and future plans for each of our seniors. Also, as a surprise for our graduates, twenty administrators, teachers, and staff members placed over 200 celebratory signs in front of seniors’ homes. Our team continues to work on alternative graduation plans, and one way or another we will provide a ceremony for our students that honors the traditions unique to our community.

As we begin to close out the school year, we would like to honor our Superintendent Award winners for the 2020 spring semester as these fantastic kids deserve to be celebrated. We are extremely proud of these students who bring so much pride to our district:

Celina Primary – Lillian Bauer & Anthony Luna

O’Dell Elementary – Audrey Holcomb, Decklan Davis, Ashley Stuck, Rhett Waldrum, Logan Nichols & Kelly Craddock

Lykins Elementary – Margot McCarty, Hunter Skaggs, Cambrie Meekins, Ryan Overstreet, Braedyn Ashworth & Ezequiel Rico

Celina Junior High – Whitney Wright & Ryker Westfall

Celina High School – Jolie Porter, Issac Buttery, Erin Camp & Brady Cunningham

This is truly a unique time in our lives, but I believe that it is during times like this that the best qualities of a community and its people really shine. It is exciting to be coming to Celina when the spirit of the city is shining so brightly. Although each day will continue to bring new changes and challenges, I look forward to learning about everything you believe to be great about Celina ISD and our community so that we can build upon these strengths together.

Go Bobcats!

You may also like

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: